Homeschooling

Why We Home School

The decision to home school our child, Evan, was one we fell into. I had thought I’d return to teaching elementary students when he was old enough to attend school with me. Little did I know that he would be the one to push us to homeschooling. My husband gave some push back to begin with, but is now fully on board the homeschool train!

During his preschool year, Evan attended a church based school, we ended up pulling him at semester. His personality did not align with their idea of 40 minute circle time (who makes a 4 year old sit for 40 minutes??). I decided that I’d finish the year with him on my own at home – how hard could it be?? Preschool was a blast with him, by the way! Then, in March, Covid hit, and everyone was on their own! The following August, when it was time to enroll him in Kindergarten, he just wasn’t ready. He has a late July birthday and I knew from my 20 years in the classroom, that it would be something that he’d fight for the rest of his days in school. So, I kept him home and continued to teach him. My sister made the same decision for her son and we started to homeschool our boys together (they are 7 weeks apart). It has been the best decision for our two boys!

We homeschool so that our son grows up to be a life-long learner, be his own person, and have a solid foundation. We are raising him to have a love of God, family, and our country. We hope that he continues to grow his love of the outdoors, science and math. We are raising a free-thinker, a lion, not a sheep.

Leave a comment